Rhythm Fantasia

Based on George Gershwin’s “I Got Rhythm”

To the American Compoers’ Orchestra

Program Notes:

Based on the popular Gershwin showtune “I Got Rhythm”, this piece takes the famous chord progression to new places. The fantasia episodes include syncopated pizzicato strings, obnoxious clarinets, and swingin’ brass.


Chamber Orchestra: 2 Flutes, 2 Oboes, 2 Clarinets in B-flat, 2 Bassoons, 2 Horns in F, Trumpet in C, Tenor Trombone, Bass Trombone, Violin I (3), Violin II (3), Viola (3), Violoncello (3), Double Bass (3)


5 minutes.


Read by the American Composers’ Orchestra on February 2, 2009 as part of the “Orchestrations+” workshop of the New York Youth Symphony.

← Return to Orchestra

← Return to Music