Symphony in E-flat Major

Program Notes:

This symphony is a large symphonic work in a three-movement structure. Movement 1 is a long symmetrical form using three melodies. The second movement is an adagio based on a grand and soaring chorale theme. Movement 3 is a hybrid Scherzo-Finale with themes from the first movement being quoted and combined with new motives.


Orchestra: Piccolo, 2 Flutes, 2 Oboes, English Horn, 3 Clarinets in B-flat (3rd also Bass Clarinet), 2 Bassoons, Contrabassoon, 4 Horns in F, 3 Trumpets in C, 3 Trombones, Tuba, Timpani, Snare Drum, Bass Drum, Crash Cymbals, Finger Cymbals, Tam-tam, Triangle, Temple Blocks, Crotales, Glockenspiel, Vibraphone, Chimes, Xylophone, Celesta, Harp, Violin I, Violin II, Viola, Violoncello, Double Bass


Complete: 32 minutes
Mov. 1: 16 minutes
Mov. 2: 9 minutes
Mov. 3: 7 minutes

← Return to Orchestra

← Return to Music